Licensed Psychologist · South Dakota · regulated by South Dakota Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Dept. of Social Services) · high confidence
| Degree | Doctorate (PhD/PsyD/EdD) from a regionally accredited institution meeting the statutory 'program in psychology' criteria; APA accreditation not required |
|---|---|
| Internship | ≥1,800 hours over ≤2 consecutive calendar years, completed before the degree; ≥25% direct client contact; ≥2 h/week individual supervision |
| Supervised experience | Supervised psychology internship (≥1,800 h) plus one year of supervised post-doctoral psychology practice |
| Pre-doctoral hours | Internship is a separate statutory requirement; post-doctoral year must follow the doctorate |
| Postdoc required? | Yes |
| Credential during the postdoc | Exempt as post-doctoral trainee (title e.g., psychology resident); optional provisional license ≤12 months after passing the national exam |
| Exams | EPPP + oral examination before the Board (≥75%) on ethics, SD law and board memoranda; oral waived for endorsement applicants since Sept 9, 2023 |
| EPPP-2 | not required (board FAQ: 'South Dakota does not currently require the EPPPII') |
| PSYPACT | member by statute — SDCL 36-27B-1, enacted SL 2024, ch 161 |
Supervision during the postdoc
- Supervision: ≥2 hours/month regularly scheduled, formal, face-to-face supervision by doctoral-level licensed psychologist(s)
- Who may supervise: One or more psychologists actively licensed at the doctoral level; need not be employees of the site
- Minimum time: One year
Related credentials
- School psychology: Separate: school psychologists/school psychological examiners certified by the SD Department of Education (exempt, SDCL 36-27A-2(6))
Can you be supervised remotely in South Dakota?
Mostly, with some limits. What shapes this: video status not stated.
- Video supervision: Rule requires ≥2 h/month of regularly scheduled, formal, "face-to-face" supervision; face-to-face is undefined, and the board FAQ says telehealth/telepsychology is not addressed in statutes and rules.
- Supervisor licensed in South Dakota? other: "psychologists actively licensed at the doctoral level" (jurisdiction not specified)
The client’s location decides which state’s rules apply. This is not legal advice; confirm with the board before building a program. Compare every state on the remote-supervision map.
Recent and pending changes
PSYPACT enacted 2024 (SL 2024, ch 161). Board waived oral exam for endorsement applicants effective Sept 9, 2023.
Where the rules are unclear
South Dakota’s own documents disagree or are silent on these points. Ask the board if they affect you:
- Does live video satisfy "face-to-face supervision" in ARSD 20:60:06:01?
- Must the supervising psychologist hold a South Dakota license?
In the board’s own words
“not less than one thousand eight hundred hours in duration over a period of not more than two consecutive calendar years” — SDCL 36-27A-12(3)✓ matched in the source
“Has had one year of supervised postdoctoral psychology practice.” — SDCL 36-27A-12(4)✓ matched in the source
“Supervision must consist of a minimum of two hours a month of regularly scheduled, formal, face-to-face supervision.” — ARSD 20:60:06:01(2)✓ matched in the source
“Candidates for licensure under SDCL 36-27A-12 must pass a written examination and an oral examination” — ARSD 20:60:05:02✓ matched in the source
“No, South Dakota does not currently require the EPPPII but will continue to review examination requirements in the future.” — Board FAQ✓ matched in the source
“Supervision must consist of a minimum of two hours a month of regularly scheduled, formal, face-to-face supervision.” — ARSD 20:60:06:01✓ matched in the source
“Telehealth/telepsychology are not currently addressed in Statues and Rules” — SD Board of Psychology FAQ✓ matched in the source
“Supervision must be provided by one or more psychologists actively licensed at the doctoral level.” — ARSD 20:60:06:01✓ matched in the source
“Supervisors need not be actual employees of the organization or institution.” — ARSD 20:60:06:01✓ matched in the source
“the supervisee's title shall clearly identify the supervisee's training status, such as psychology resident” — ARSD 20:60:06:01(2)✓ matched in the source
“PSYCHOLOGY INTERJURISDICTIONAL COMPACT (PSYPACT)” — SDCL 36-27B-1✓ matched in the source
Other licenses in South Dakota
- LPC-MH (professional counselor)
- LMFT (marriage and family therapist)
- CSW-PIP (clinical social worker)
- All South Dakota licenses · every state
Sources
- SDCL 36-27A-1 Definitions (program in psychology)
- SDCL 36-27A-12 Qualifications for license
- SDCL 36-27A-12.1 Provisional license
- SDCL 36-27A-2 Exempt persons
- ARSD 20:60:05:02, :06, :07, :08 Examinations
- ARSD 20:60:06:01 Supervisory relationship
- ARSD 20:60:08:01 Supervised internship
- SDCL 36-27B-1 Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact
- Board FAQ (PDF)
- Post-Doctoral Psychological Experience Form (July 2018)
- ARSD 20:60:06:01 Supervisory relationship
- SDCL 36-27B-1 Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact
Checked against South Dakota Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Dept. of Social Services)’s rules, statutes and publications on September 25, 2026. The board decides; if your situation is unusual, confirm with them.