Idaho requirements

LCPC requirements in Idaho

What it takes to become a Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor in Idaho: 2,000 hours of direct client contact over at least no less than 2 years, plus supervision, time limits, exams and whether you can be supervised by video. Every figure is sourced to the state board and dated.

Sourced to Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists (DOPL)Checked September 25, 2026Not individually reviewed by a clinicianAbout this site

Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (professional counselor) · Idaho · regulated by Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists (DOPL) · high confidence

Pre-license credentialLPC (Licensed Professional Counselor) plus Registered Post-Graduate Intern registration
Supervised experience2,000 hours of direct client contact experience under supervision (LCPC); LPC first requires 1,000 hours of supervised experience
Direct client contactAll 2,000 LCPC hours are direct client contact; LPC: 400 of 1,000 hours direct client contact
SupervisionNo fixed total; 1 hour clinical supervision per 30 direct hours; at least half individual
Minimum timeno less than 2 years
Time limitIntern registration limited to 4 years from original registration unless good cause shown
ExamsLCPC: NCMHCE; LPC: NCE (NBCC)

Supervision

  • How much: No fixed total; 1 hour clinical supervision per 30 direct hours; at least half individual
  • How often: 1 hour of clinical supervision for every 30 hours of direct client contact (LPC stage: 1 individual hour per 20 direct hours)
  • Group supervision: At least half of supervision individual; individual = no more than 2 supervisees per supervisor; group = 3+ supervisees
  • Who may supervise: 1,000 of 2,000 hours under an LCPC; rest any 'supervisor' (LCPC, MFT, psychologist, LCSW, psychiatrist); Board-approved: LCPC/LMFT + 15 h supervision training, no discipline 5 yrs

When hours count and what to keep

  • Before your degree: LPC's 1,000 hours may be met by graduate practicum/internship; LCPC 2,000 hours not stated as post-degree in rule text
  • Paperwork: LCPC Evaluation and Verification of Supervised Experience form (DOPL-COU-1, one per setting); Supervisor privileges added via DOPL portal

Can you be supervised remotely in Idaho?

Yes by video, but the supervisor needs a state-specific supervisor credential and the board must approve the arrangement first. What shapes this: state-only supervisor credential, prior board approval, video status not stated.

  • Video supervision: Not addressed. Rules require 1 h supervision per 30 direct hours (half individual) but never say in person or by video; LCPC form records "individual face-to-face direct" hours without defining face-to-face.
  • Supervisor licensed in Idaho? other: supervisor must be approved as a supervisor in the state where the supervisee practises, i.e. an Idaho Board-approved supervisor for Idaho interns; the rule does not say which state must issue the LCPC/LMFT license
  • Supervisor credential: Idaho Board-approved supervisor (supervisor privilege on DOPL license): LCPC or LMFT + 15 contact hours of supervisor training + no discipline in 5 years; LPCs may be approved only until July 1, 2026
  • Supervisee cap: No overall cap; individual supervision = no more than 2 supervisees per supervisor, group = 3 or more
  • Board approval first: Post-graduate intern registration required before practising under supervision; registration must designate a Board-approved supervisor

The client’s location decides which state’s rules apply. This is not legal advice; confirm with the board before building a program. Compare every state on the remote-supervision map.

Recent and pending changes

LPCs may be approved supervisors only until July 1, 2026 (Rule 200.02.b); after that LPC supervisors must hold LCPC. Board moving to biennial licensure since Oct 14, 2025.

Where the rules are unclear

Idaho’s own documents disagree or are silent on these points. Ask the board if they affect you:

  • Does "face-to-face" on DOPL-COU-1 include synchronous video supervision for LCPC hours? The MFT form expressly counts "live electronic connection" hours; the LCPC form does not.

In the board’s own words

“Document two thousand (2,000) hours of direct client contact experience under supervision in no less than a two (2) year period” — Idaho Code §54-3405A(2)✓ matched in the source
“one (1) hour of clinical supervision for every thirty (30) hours of direct client contact, with at least half of the supervised hours involving individual” — IDAPA 24.15.01.100.02.a✓ matched in the source
“in no less than a two (2) year period” — Idaho Code §54-3405A(2)✓ matched in the source
“An individual may not practice as an intern for more than four (4) years from the original date of registration, unless good cause is demonstrated” — IDAPA 24.15.01.100.06✓ matched in the source
“Registered interns obtaining supervised or postgraduate experience hours must be supervised by a Board-approved supervisor” — IDAPA 24.15.01 (Rules of the Idaho Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and MFTs), 003.01-.02 (p. 3), 100.02.a, 100.04.c, 100.06 (pp. 3-4), 200.02 (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“document a minimum of fifteen (15) contact hours of relevant education in supervisor training” — IDAPA 24.15.01 (Rules of the Idaho Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and MFTs), 003.01-.02 (p. 3), 100.02.a, 100.04.c, 100.06 (pp. 3-4), 200.02 (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“approved as a supervisor in the state where the supervisee is practicing” — IDAPA 24.15.01 (Rules of the Idaho Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and MFTs), 003.01-.02 (p. 3), 100.02.a, 100.04.c, 100.06 (pp. 3-4), 200.02 (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“Individual Supervision is supervision that occurs with no more than two supervisees to one supervisor.” — IDAPA 24.15.01 (Rules of the Idaho Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and MFTs), 003.01-.02 (p. 3), 100.02.a, 100.04.c, 100.06 (pp. 3-4), 200.02 (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“A post-graduate intern registration is required to engage in the supervised practice of counseling” — IDAPA 24.15.01 (Rules of the Idaho Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and MFTs), 003.01-.02 (p. 3), 100.02.a, 100.04.c, 100.06 (pp. 3-4), 200.02 (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“designate a supervisor approved by the Board” — IDAPA 24.15.01 (Rules of the Idaho Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and MFTs), 003.01-.02 (p. 3), 100.02.a, 100.04.c, 100.06 (pp. 3-4), 200.02 (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“Total of individual face-to-face direct (not group) hours with supervisor” — DOPL LCPC Evaluation and Verification of Supervised Experience form (DOPL-COU-1, rev. 8/24)✓ matched in the source

Other licenses in Idaho

Sources

Checked against Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists (DOPL)’s rules, statutes and publications on September 25, 2026. The board decides; if your situation is unusual, confirm with them.

Track your hours as you earn them

Practice Harbor is free while you are pre-licensed. It counts your clinical hours from the sessions you mark as attended, and you can add outside hours by hand.

General information, not legal advice. Requirements are summarized from each state’s licensing board, statutes and regulations on the date shown; the board decides, and rules change. Becoming Licensed is not affiliated with any licensing board.