Licensed Psychologist · Idaho · regulated by Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) · high confidence
| Degree | Doctoral degree in psychology from an accredited institution (APA-accredited deemed to meet all criteria); or doctorate in a related field acceptable to the board |
|---|---|
| Internship | Pre-doctoral internship required in the program; at an APPIC member site or equivalent program |
| Supervised experience | Two years of supervised experience; one may be predoctoral practicum/internship, one must be postdoctoral; each year = ≥1,000 hours in 12–36 months |
| Pre-doctoral hours | Yes: one of the two years may be predoctoral practicum or internship, credited only after one year of full-time graduate study |
| Postdoc required? | Yes |
| Postdoc hours | One year: minimum 1,000 hours of supervised service in not less than 12 and no more than 36 calendar months |
| Credential during the postdoc | none specified in statute/rules (statute defines 'service extender' — doctoral or master's person practising under a licensed psychologist's supervision) |
| Exams | EPPP (written exam required by rule); no jurisprudence or oral exam named in rules |
| EPPP-2 | not adopted (rules require the EPPP only) |
| PSYPACT | member — Idaho Code §54-2321 enacted by SB 1305 (2022), effective July 1, 2022 |
Supervision during the postdoc
- Supervision: Minimum 1 hour/week face-to-face individual supervision per 40 hours of experience
- Who may supervise: Licensed psychologist in good standing
- Minimum time: 12 months per year of supervised experience
- Time limit: 36 calendar months per year of supervised experience
Can you be supervised remotely in Idaho?
Mostly, with some limits. What shapes this: video status not stated.
- Video supervision: Rule requires 1 h/week of "face-to-face individual contact" per 40 h; face-to-face is undefined and video is not mentioned in statute or rules.
- Supervisor licensed in Idaho? other: "licensed and in good standing"; jurisdiction not specified
- Board approval first: None before supervision; supervisor submits a written evaluation on a Board form at the end
The client’s location decides which state’s rules apply. This is not legal advice; confirm with the board before building a program. Compare every state on the remote-supervision map.
Recent and pending changes
Board transitioning to biennial licensure from July 1, 2025 (renewal only; no change to entry requirements found).
Where the rules are unclear
Idaho’s own documents disagree or are silent on these points. Ask the board if they affect you:
- Does the board accept synchronous video as "face-to-face individual contact" under IDAPA 24.12.01.200.01.c?
In the board’s own words
“two (2) years of supervised experience acceptable to the board, one (1) year of which may include a predoctoral practicum or internship and one (1) of which must be postdoctoral” — Idaho Code §54-2307(2)(a)✓ matched in the source
“a minimum of one thousand (1000) hours of supervised service provision acquired during not less than twelve (12) months and no more than a thirty-six (36) calendar month period” — IDAPA 24.12.01.200.01.a✓ matched in the source
“Pre-doctoral internships must be completed at a member site of the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers, or sites demonstrating an equivalent program.” — IDAPA 24.12.01.150.02✓ matched in the source
“One (1) hour per week of face-to-face individual contact per forty (40) hours of applicable experience is a minimum.” — IDAPA 24.12.01.200.01.c✓ matched in the source
“Applicants will pass the National Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).” — IDAPA 24.12.01.100.01✓ matched in the source
“One (1) hour per week of face-to-face individual contact per forty (40) hours of applicable experience is a minimum.” — IDAPA 24.12.01 (Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners), 200.01.a-d (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“Supervising psychologists must be licensed and in good standing.” — IDAPA 24.12.01 (Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners), 200.01.a-d (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
“allows licensed psychologists from other Compact states the ability to provide telehealth and temporary face-to-face services to Idaho patients” — DOPL Psychologist board home page (PSYPACT notice)✓ matched in the source
“the supervisor will submit a written evaluation on a Board approved form” — IDAPA 24.12.01 (Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners), 200.01.a-d (p. 5)✓ matched in the source
Other licenses in Idaho
- LCPC (professional counselor)
- LMFT (marriage and family therapist)
- LCSW (clinical social worker)
- All Idaho licenses · every state
Sources
- Idaho Code §54-2307 (Qualifications for license)
- IDAPA 24.12.01.100.01 and .100.04.c (Licensure)
- Idaho Code §54-2321 (Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact)
- Idaho Code §54-2302(9) (service extender definition)
- DOPL Board of Psychologist Examiners home page
Checked against Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses)’s rules, statutes and publications on September 25, 2026. The board decides; if your situation is unusual, confirm with them.